Skip to content

#206 Berkeley Spa

February 16, 2011

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.  It’s not often I get the chance to undress in front of London’s rich and famous, but Sunday, courtesy of one very generous Mr Brown, I spent a thoroughly enjoyable 4 hours of indulgence and pampering at the Berkeley Spa.  I knew I was onto a good thing as soon as I arrived – when issued with my slippers and bathrobe and instructed to enjoy the roof top swimming pool, the loungers and the stunning views over Hyde Park….   After a couple of hours of dozing on a lounger by the marble pool, where the most effort was turning a page of my book or having a sip of fruit water, I eventually managed a couple of lengths in the pool.   The clientele tended towards the rich, old and slightly orange – rather than famous, but without my specs on I don’t think I’d  have even noticed if Michael Douglas was on the lounger next to me (probably a good thing…).

However, the best was yet to come- with 2 hrs of pampering including a ticklish body scrub, a neck and shoulder massage and a facial, in a lovely warm room, with plinky plonky music playing in the background.  I came out thoroughly bemused, not at all wanting to face the rain or getting home, but wishing it was something I could do every day.   Unfortunately the steep price tag means I’ll just have to wait till next Christmas and hope that Mr Brown is feeling equally generous.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

